Your Next Adventure

Carter, I will never forget the feeling of dropping you off on your first long, solo hike. We hugged. I wanted to hang on a little longer than you did. No surprise there. You turned to walk into the woods and I turned away, both of us with brief hesitation. It’s not that I was afraid you couldn’t do it, it’s that I knew you would come back a different person apart from me. (Also, the bears. I am always afraid of the bears!)

I feel a little of the same emotions now as you get married.

You have always been one to figure it out for yourself. I don’t even know if I taught you how to tie your shoes. I know I have never helped you with one brick of the million lego you have put together. (I hope by now you have forgiven me for giving away the Millennium Falcon)Come to think of it, I don’t think I ever helped you with one homework assignment; well except for when you were 5 and you drew that detailed and intricate butterfly to go with your story and you kept erasing it because it wasn’t perfect. I tried to help you understand it didn’t need to be perfect, it was amazing the way it was. For the record, I did not succeed and you continued to stick with it until it was the way you wanted it to be. Then there was the time you taught yourself how to do a backflip in secret, without anyone to spot you. I know for sure I wasn’t the one to teach you to be the fantastic cook and baker that you are. I can’t leave out the endless miles you have hiked alone; facing god knows what. Frankly, I think the only thing I helped you with was buying and returning and buying and returning and buying and returning your clothes so you wouldn’t have to go to the store. So today, I do not think I will give you any relationship advice. I am confident, like everything else, you will figure it out. You have always had the grit and tenacity to figure things out.

You and Ann both bring those qualities to your marriage.

I am sure they will carry you through so much.

I know I am not sending you off on this new adventure alone, as you have your brilliant and beautiful bride, Ann.

But if I am being totally honest, I still want to hang on just a little longer.

Love,

Mom

About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment