To My Son On Your Wedding Day

use this tyler.jpg

Dear Son,

It’s the morning of your wedding day and I can’t sleep. So I am sitting in the lobby of the hotel and thought I would write a few things to you even though I know you won’t ever read them.

 

Tyler, you NEVER slept as a baby. The doctors told me it was a sign of intelligence.  A lot of days I would have preferred dumb and sleepy.  I would sit in your Winnie the Pooh nursery and cry with you. I must have listened to that lullaby CD a million and one times trying to get you to sleep.  Kenny Loggins and House At Pooh Corner were my companions all those months.

 

I had a difficult time trying to find a song to dance to with you today.  They were either too cheesy, too country, or too  NSync. Who knew NSync wrote a song to their mom for their wedding day?  It was pretty bad.  I am not sure how I stumbled across the song again, but it instantly took me back to the early days of being your mom.  And despite the fact that you never slept…EVER, you were a really easy kid to raise.

 

You were an easy teenager too.

 

Well, except for that run in with the police and the donuts.

 

While most kids were out drinking and smoking weed you, you rebel, were breaking curfew to go get $1.99 donuts from the gas station 1 mile away from our house.  I thought I had lost you forever.

 

And that time as a freshman in college when you stepped up and took control of the situation when that VT student was harming himself and threatening others, I knew you were well on your way to becoming a man of character and action.

 

 

I learned that Kenny Loggins wrote House At Pooh Corner when he was 17 and about to graduate from high school and enter adulthood. So I thought, considering our history, it was only appropriate that we dance to it today as you enter your next phase of adulting.

Son, I want you to know how very proud I am of the man you have become. And I am so grateful that God chose me to be your mom.

 

And to your beautiful bride, Liz, I apologize for all the things that are going to drive you crazy that I failed to parent out of him.  You have my permission to blame me for years to come.

 

So, Tyler, as the song says, there is so much more to be done…

 

And I know you and Liz are going to do them so well together.

Love,

Mom.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to To My Son On Your Wedding Day

  1. Kim says:

    Suzi – you are an amazing person! Thinking of you on this special day! I don’t know how you will not be crying your eyes out as you begin the dance of letting Tyler go today. Your sentiment made me cry! Love you Suzi! Kim Vann

  2. bypro says:

    very beautifully said…and a major congrats on this day for you all.

    😉

    Sincerely,

    J. Tad Newberry BIG YA PRODUCTIONS, LLC

    /BigYaProductions http://www.bigya.tv (503) 351-0771

    AND…

    Manager #152890 “The Best Keep-In-Touch Tool on the Planet!” http://www.SendOutCards.com/JTN

  3. OMG! Goose bumps over here!! What beautiful words to your dear son! 🙂

Leave a Reply

