I caught Powerball Fever

lotteryI have never bought a lottery ticket in my life. But today as I was laundering and scrubbing and sweeping the crud out of my house, I started to fantasize about what I would do with all that money and freedom if I was the 1 in 292 million chances to win the lottery.  Which job would I quit first? Which caribbean island would I build my dream house on?  I planned the trip I would send my sister and her husband on as a thank you for all the amazing trips they have taken  my kids on. I would buy the Lakers for my friend and maybe a jet just because, you know, 900 million dollars!  I would get Cameron a really sweet drum set to replace the incomplete set he has and Carter a jet of his own so he could come see me a lot. (I know it is not very equitable but it’s what came to my mind.  I was inhaling bleach fumes so back off) Not sure what I would get Tyler cuz every time I think of him lately I get teary eyed and nostalgic remembering him  as the chubby fat little baby he was, not the young man about to be a husband.  There would be the usual splurges for my family and friends and of course I’d start a charity, Im not a complete materialistic jerk.

 

So off I went to buy my very first lottery ticket.

 

The line wasn’t too long so I decided to get my grocery shopping done first.  As I was paying for my groceries I looked up and saw (now bear with me this is going to sound judgey and I don’t mean it to; it’s just how my moment went) a disheveled mother in her sleep pants with a fist full of lottery tickets yelling at her toddlers to stand still while she paid for some more tickets.

 

The line was getting longer and my lottery fever was waning.

 

As I stood there I thought, I get it, I really do.  There was a time, not too long ago, that I may not have outwardly looked like that disheveled mom desperately trying to win some relief, but I certainly felt like it on the inside. I was struggling to raise these boys and the hope of a huge lottery win was something that would have eliminated a lot of my struggles.  Many times I was holding an imaginary fistful of lottery tickets myself wishing and hoping for some relief from my “lot in life”  So really, there was no judgement just the realization that tonight I am not so desperate for a lottery win anymore. For a brief second I even thought that if I won I wouldn’t even quit my jobs. Emphasis on BRIEF.

So after all that lottery fever and fantasizing, I ended up not buying a lottery ticket.  To be honest, the real reason I didn’t buy a lottery ticket was that the line had gotten considerably longer  by the time I finished buying my groceries and now I had to go to the bathroom. And  we all know the chances of me wetting my pants were exponentially greater than  getting even one number right in the power ball.

So good luck to all of you who bought one and if you win I hope I fall into that friends and family category and you throw a cool mil my way. After all, I am going to start a charity. On a Caribbean island.

 

What are you going to do if you win???

About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

