Doing Love

sammy fire fighterI love Ellen! I know that adorable face to the left is not Ellen, but keep reading. After I cross The Jimmy Fallon Show trip off my bucket list, Ellen will be next. You know why I love Ellen? Because she doesn’t just say Be kind to one another, She IS kind to one another. Many an afternoon I sit and get teary eyed and smiley watching her shower people in need with all kinds of kindness. And it motivates me to give and to be kind too. Unfortunately for you, I just don’t have giant checks or cars to give away.

Does anything hurt the church more than people talking the talk, speaking in “christian-ese”, and yet not living it? Or worse yet, talking the talk and doing the opposite. Many times it’s this very behavior that turns people away from the church and keeps them from pursuing a relationship with God. I myself have a little bit of post traumatic church syndrome. I was living with the talk, the lingo, the preaching, and yet being harmed by the very same person doing the talking. It’s caused me to be on guard, build a wall, and keep my distance.

But lately I have had the privilege of witnessing what Bob Goff refers to as, LOVE DOES. And just like watching Ellen, it makes me teary eyed and smiley; and it is helping me to remove some of the bricks in my wall I have constructed to protect my heart.

There is a lovely family in the community where I work. They have faced some really, really, really hard things. Last year they almost lost their sweet baby to infant botulism. Thankfully she made a full recovery. But imagine going through that trial, only to have another of your children be diagnosed with cancer a year later. That is what they are facing. And They are facing it with a measure of grace and faith I can only hope to exhibit one day. But what has me teary eyed and smiley and lowering my wall is watching the way their tribe – their people- their family and friends, have DONE LOVE.

Not just said, DID
Not just preached, DID
Not just talked, DID

They organized a whole community to wear red to honor Sammy. There was a sea of red in his elementary school!

red for sammy

They made a special sweatshirt so it will be easier for him to get his meds administered and vitals taken.

swaet shirt 2

They lined the streets with messages of love on the morning of his first round of chemo.

sammy 2
chalk sammy

They have organized meals and fundraising to help with medical costs.

They have showed up time and time again and surrounded them with prayer and encouragement.

And the list goes on and on.

They DID

They are living the lingo. They are putting feet to their faith.

This precious family has a long and scary road ahead of them. But because their friends and family are living The Word and Doing Love, the road may just be a little less long and scary.

I’m pretty sure that’s how God wants love done.

I can hear the bricks crashing as I type. Maybe yours are too.

And I am pretty confident that God is a little teary eyed and smiley watching his children DOING LOVE!

If you want to help with medical costs, here is the link.
http://www.gofundme.com/evj7fc

“Dear children, let us not love with words or speech but with actions and in truth.” 1 john 3:18

About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doing Love

  1. suzer says:

    Suzi! Please email me your mailing address. I need to send you your free book, and I can’t find the card on which you wrote your mailing.

  2. Stephanie says:

    A very nice expression of thought. Truly honest and remarkable. The way you have explained it is really nice.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

