Only Three Prayers

An introverts best friend!

An introverts best friend!

I’ve mentioned In previous posts that my two favorite authors are  Anne Lamott and Glennon Doyle Melton.  I was lucky enough to hear Glennon speak this weekend.  She was equal parts inspiring and hilarious. I am drawn to her and Anne because they write and speak with such authenticity.  There are so many things I gleaned from this weekend with Glennon. But,  probably the most important was that if you are an introvert and you are faced with an unexpected social hour and you are alone, you must have an amazing scarf.  As much as I talk about my kids being introverts, it is times like this that I am reminded that I am just as much an introvert as they are.  I was so looking forward to a weekend by myself listening and learning from some amazing  and smart women.  I couldn’t wait for my night in a hotel room alone, just me, my king size bed, my books, room service and Marriott pillows. I mean really does any hotel have better pillows than Marriott? What I didn’t anticipate was an hour and a half reception before the speaker began.  There I was alone in a room, knowing no one. An introverts nightmare; small talk and taking the initiative to introduce yourself to strangers. I was seriously considering driving back to the hotel to the comfort of my Marriott pillows and books.  Who would have thought it would be my scarf that would have saved me. I entered the room with much fear and trepidation when immediately this nice lady, who appeared to be about  my moms age, commented on my scarf. I am sure she was not expecting the detailed description of the time line of how the scarf came into my possession, but she got it.  I saw it awhile ago shopping at a trendy over priced store in Georgetown. I fell in  love with it  but couldn’t justify spending my grocery money on a scarf. I stalked it on the internet for weeks until miraculously it went on sale. I still debated whether to get it because I live at the beach and really how many times do you need a scarf? Her eyes started to glaze over as I rambled on and on about my scarf, so I quickly used my Dale Carnegie skills and asked if she had any children.  We shared a nice little conversation and I felt like I was talking to my mom.  We parted ways and I turned to try and look busy and comfortable only to have a group of hip, stylish young moms comment on my scarf.  “Oh my gosh I love your scarf”  “Where did you get it?”  Again, they got the whole story. The only difference was their eyes did not glaze over, they pulled out their Iphones and pulled up the website. By now I had used up about 20 minutes of the hour and a half. The conversation ended and when I left, they probably felt like they had just talked to their mom. I turned to head to the food table when I was stopped by another sweet lady who again complimented me on, you got it, my scarf.  Again, I was grateful for a great conversation starter that lead to a conversation that revealed we had A LOT In common.  So lesson learned, if you are an introvert, get online right now and purchase a boho chic scarf that will ignite conversation so you don’t have to.  But seriously that is not at all what I wanted this blog to be about. Sorry, but if I can help one introvert through a difficult time…

Anne Lamott has a book out with the title, Help,Thanks, Wow.  She has come to realize that her prayer life has really been reduced to three prayers.  Glennon referenced that this weekend and shared her three prayers…Please,Thank You, and WTF.( I so wish I had thought of that first)  I can really relate to Anne’s thoughts.  When the rug has been pulled out from under you and life has come unglued, you throw out all the fancy prayers and get right down to it.  No time for flowery words or lengthy prayers.  So it got me thinking what are my three prayers?  And what about you? what would your three prayers be?  I’d like to hear…

I believe for today my three prayers are : Really? Come On! and OK.

About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

