It happened on a tennis court

Image

We thought we were going to play like this…

Anyone that knows me well, knows my relationship with tennis is a complicated one. If you will remember, years ago I had to give up my dream job to take a job managing a swim and racquet club to feed my family.   I found myself on a tractor taking care of tennis courts that I had no idea how to take care of. I was not prepared or equipped to keep a tennis community happy; thus my complicated relationship with tennis. Luckily, since then we  have hired a good looking tennis pro that has done the job that I was not able  to do. So when your 16 year old son, who just a year ago was hospitalized and then on homebound education, asks you to play tennis your only choice, regardless of your relationship with tennis, is to say…”Oh my gosh! I would love to” (translated “Oh my gosh someone shoot me”)  Insert my plug for On line PE here…This would never have happened if my son was not required to wear a heart rate monitor and record at least 3  one  hour workout sessions a week.

So we headed to the tennis courts; motivated by online PE, time with my boy, and a chance to wear my new Lu Lu Lemon workout pants. (I always say, if you can’t play well, at least look good) I quickly discovered that playing tennis with my boy was not very different from what I do for a living; pretty much just picking up tennis balls from the bushes. We had a couple of good rallies… well one.  But the important thing was we were exercising and having fun.  We couldn’t help but giggle every time I asked him if he had any balls. His response, “Only one, I lost the other in Nam”.  Not to mention the fact that I wished I was wearing depends  for every 3 out of 4 shots.   We were terrible, really terrible. But it was fun, really fun. I kept looking across the net thinking; this time last year I was on my knees, face down, begging God  to bring my son  back to me. And here he was, my funny, smart, and really horrible tennis player son; laughing and running, and  being himself.  And it happened on a tennis court. I’ve learned a few things about tennis in my time at the racquet club.  I now know there are ratings for how well you play tennis. 3.0, 3.5, 4.0 etc…  I’m pretty sure Cameron and I set some new standards for ratings, somewhere in the  negative integers. But, I’m also  pretty sure as far as tennis matches go, this one rated a 5.0  in satisfaction.

I would have never imagined it happening on a tennis court, but it did. It was on that tennis court that I realized I have  my boy back! My bunion hurts and my back hurts,  but my heart is happy.  And, Now I’m off to get a patent for tennis wear with depends built in; you know for the over 50 crowd. You are welcome, ladies.

Image

We pretty much played like this…

About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in choosing to be happy, family, Fitness, getting back up, happiness, humor, teenagers, Thankfulness, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It happened on a tennis court

  1. We find miracles in the most unexpected places!!!!

Leave a Reply

