Prayer for the Fatherless

It’s everywhere. Every Facebook post is a tribute to an amazing dad. I can’t read anymore.  I turn on the news and the roundtable is  taking  turns sharing what their dad taught them and how it led to their success. It’s everywhere. I don’t want to take anything away from all these tributes. There are a lot of amazing dad’s out there. I was blessed enough to have an amazing dad too. He wasn’t  perfect, but he was there, and hard working, and kind, and loyal, and he endured taking me to Indian Princesses when he would have much rather been on the golf course.  He has been gone for 24 years and I miss him still.  But I’m not going to lie, I am grieving today.  Not just for my boys, but for all the children that are having to fight to rise above their father’s bad choices.  I am sad today for those innocent children who didn’t get to pick who their dad was going to be.  They didn’t get to pick a father that was going to be loyal to their family and not walk out.  They didn’t get to pick a father that wouldn’t struggle with addiction, they didn’t get to pick a father that would be faithful to their mom.  They didn’t get to pick.  And it makes for a not so happy Father’s Day.  The day is  a reminder that they got cheated. So here is my prayer for my children and for all those with a dad that has left them hurting, scarred, and wanting…

I pray that there is always someone there to play catch with or build a Lego with or watch Superman or Princess Diaries with.

I pray that there is always someone there to teach you the wisdom of life that only a man who has lived well can teach

I pray that there is always someone there to encourage you to  discover and pursue your God given gifts and talents

I pray that there is always someone there to model strong character and principled living

I pray that there is always someone there to correct you when you want to hear it the least but need it the most

I pray that there is always someone there to help you to overcome life’s hardships and  to persevere

I pray that there is always someone there to lead you to become the person you were created to be

I pray that there is always someone there to make you feel safe and secure

I pray, above all else, that the  perfect Father above heals your hurt, fills your void, and satisfies your soul.

“Kids have a hole in their soul in the shape of their dad and if a father is unwilling or unable to fill that hole, it can leave a wound that is not easily healed.” Roland Warren

Like my Blog? Feel free to subscribe. It’s  relatively painless.

About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in alcoholhism, comments on life, divorce, family, Life's challenges, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Prayer for the Fatherless

  1. Your boys are fortunate that the someone who works so hard to fill that father-shaped hole is you!

  2. So very true. Thanks for reminding us about the broken souls that didn’t get to choose.

Leave a Reply

