It’s Not The Feety Pajamas, Its The Person in Them

i love my sisterIn hind sight it was a silly little fight. But to me, in that moment, it solidified that my sister would always be there for me. She was on the top bunk, I was on the bottom.  There are reasons.  But that is a another story for another time.  It involves pulling and falling and shoulders  being dislocated; it’s not pretty. Besides this is a heart warming story about a sister …

She reached her hand down as I reached mine up, looking for a reassuring hand to hold.  We could hear our parents fighting in the next room and we were sure they were getting divorced.  The pit in our stomachs told us so. But she was there with me, and it helped me get through the night. They didn’t get divorced, but I eventually would and it was her hand that once again was there to reassure me and help me get through the night. And too many other nights to count.

Recently she helped me celebrate my 50th…with feety pajamas. And Spree, and Cheeze Doodles, and fire balls,and RC Cola, and jacks, and cats cradle string, and Jiffy Pop Popcorn, and did I mention feety pajamas.? All the sweet memories of our  childhood. We shared a room our entire childhood. It created memories and a bond that I will forever be grateful for.

I was reminded again last week how amazing my sister is.  She came to be with me while my youngest was in the hospital. Most days as a single mom are manageable, but in times of crisis you are reminded that you really are alone in this life.  It’s all on your shoulders. No one else can share the responsibility, fear, and worry for your child.  But my sister, once again, extended her hand to me. And though she couldn’t fix it, she gave me moments of peace and help. ( and wine) She walked with me. ( And when we decided to run, she laughed at me when I fell and busted my knee.)  She did my laundry, and cooked, and cleaned my bathrooms. She helped me do horrible jobs at work, and she helped Carter start the garden. But mostly, she was there to hold my hand through a very scary and very sad time with my son.

During this difficult and overwhelming time I am trying to focus on things that I can be thankful for. My sister is on the top of my list. And, I am thankful for the feety pajamas that we had as kids.  It is a memory that reminds me that no matter what, there is always someone I can count on who will be there for me to offer me a hand… or a Cheeze Doodle.

Who’s the someone  holding your hand? Be grateful and tell them….and be that someone for someone!

Oh to be 15 again!

Oh to be 15 again!

Still rocking the feety pajamas at 50..just can't stay in them cuz of the hot flashes

Still rocking the feety pajamas at 50..just can’t stay in them cuz of the hot flashes

Perfect choice of wine

Perfect choice of wine

Before I fell on my face after attempting to run for the first time in a year

Before I fell on my face after attempting to run for the first time in a year

She tried to accuse me of stealing her sandals... we had the same ones

She tried to accuse me of stealing her sandals… we had the same ones

About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in choosing to be happy, family, Life's challenges, single parenting, Thankfulness, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Not The Feety Pajamas, Its The Person in Them

  1. Lori says:

    I know that since I can’t write as beautifully as my sister, what I say will not do her justice. But I will have to try. MY sister seems to forget all the tough times she helped me through. When I was going through my divorce, she was the one I called when I didn’t think I could go on one more day, but she just listened to me cry and helped me get through that day and then another. And she was the one that offered to be a surrogate after my once ex-husband became my 2nd husband and we found out we couldn’t have kids. She has been so generous in sharing her 3 wonderful sons with us. She forgets that the time we get to spend with them is a HUGE gift to us. And how could I ever forget how she helped me with my genetic defect flash cards when I was studying for a test? Or the shower races, jumping from bed to bed, and sharing the smallest closet in the world? And you should see the collection of jewelry she has given me over the years. Each one is a special memory of time spent together with her or with the boys. We have been through so much together, and I wish I could take away the hurt, make her job easier, help her boys feel better and buy her that condo on the beach, but I can’t. I do, however have a vision of this strong, hard working, talented, fun, amazing woman and mom coming out of this chapter even stronger and more amazing than ever.
    I did buy the feety pajamas big enough to fit depends, since that will likely be necessary for the next feety pajama picture.
    Whenever I’m in the delivery room and it’s a girl and I find out they have another girl at home, I think of how lucky they are to have a sister. It is one of the greatest things in the whole world. I, too am so grateful for my sister, my friend.

  2. Kerry Lovey says:

    You’re both stunning! 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

