Now what Are We Going To Talk About? (Or Has Facebook Ruined the High School Reunion)

So my 30 year high school reunion is in a  week.  Divorced and still doing the same job  I was doing 30 years ago (minus the after pool hours activities), was not really where I saw myself  come reunion time. Even still, I am pretty excited to reconnect with everyone….umm, wait a second. Never mind. I forgot, Facebook has already done that for me.  Through the marvels of social media, I  now know some of my classmates better than I did  30 years ago when we were sitting next to each other  in Mr Hines’ history class. I really am looking forward to seeing everyone, I’m  just wondering what we are going to talk about. I kind of feel like I have talked to everyone just yesterday. I mean take Rob A. for example. Because of FB, I already know every McDonalds he’s been to in the last three years, and that he has a special place in his heart for amish women and scrapple.  I can tell that Meglyn B still has the same  great energy and enthusiasm she did 30 years ago….it shows in her pictures and posts about her and her family.  Anne F. is obviously still really  smart and passionate, and apparently has some really  smart and talented kids that have brought her to some of the coolest places in America to live. (OK, I’m a little jealous). I have learned that  Susie W. could kick my a@# in the courtroom and in a brazilian Jiu Jitsu match.  I am just hoping all the after pool hours memories we made at MCC will prevent her from doing either. Looks like Lisa P. is still as sweet and kind as she was when we were 17.   It seems Derek B  is just as  suave as he ever was.(I  still think of him every time I see a man with his shirt collar up)  The man gets around.  From New Orleans to Texas to California, I never know where he will be posting from next….will he make it back to old Md.? One can hope. FB has given me a glimpse of the kind of fathers Brian B., Greg J.,Eddie R., and Biff G. have become.   I can tell they are doing an amazing job as dad’s!  Really doesn’t surprise me though, they were pretty grounded  even 30 years ago. Speaking of good Dad’s, it seems Greg R. has an adorable  young son; who I am sure he will raise to be as talented and confident as he was. Not every teenage boy can pull off tights with confidence, but he always did! (I hope he brings his beautiful wife to show anyone that may have  made fun of him 30 years ago.)I can tell Jack F. is  also a good dad, but who knew he would become party planner extraordinaire? (By the way, Jack, thanks) I wish Maureen S. could hop the pond for the event, she has always been one of my favorite people…and I want to pay her back for those awful car pictures she made me take for the yearbook. Michelle C.  has  certainly inspired me with her fitness accomplishments, and  most recently as I have watched her parent her son.  I can see that  Susan K is living large! (she has the best pictures on fb.)  I am not ashamed to admit it, I wish I was having half as much fun as she is having! It makes sense though, her farm was certainly the place for many fun memories!  While I am being envious of former classmates, I think I would like to have Sandra C’s cool Discovery Channel job, and Debbie S’s endless energy to go out on the weekends. I can see from FB that our homecoming queen, Robin G, is even more beautiful now than she was when she was crowned on that fall day after the MHS Pom Poms performed to the Beach Boys song “Be True To Your School” on the football field of the MHS Colonels. (sorry had to make a Pom Pom reference) I’ve had the pleasure of chatting with Sherri and Terri, and think their families are beautiful and that they are blessed to be raising them together.  I’d talk to Daphne K. about her  beautiful girls and her  latest vacation, but  I feel like I already did when I looked at her pictures from the Grand Canyon. (again, I will admit it, I was a bit jealous) Jane S. doesn’t have any kids, but I swear she has the coolest, cutest dog on the planet… way cooler and cuter than any of my kids! It’s obvious that Michelle M. has not let thirty years ruin her optimism, and I’m hoping she can tell me her secret.  The one negative is that  FB has ruined the surprise that Mike R. and Gabby M. are coming to the reunion together.  So, all that to say, I really  don’t know what we will talk about when the Colonol Zadok Magruder  HS class of 1981 reunites in a week, but I have a feeling we will find something.  There is a life long bond with the people who were with you when you were making the journey to adulthood.  I mean, who else would understand why you went to the Rocky Horror Picture show no less than 1,000 times?

 

 

“High school, those are your prime suffering years. You don’t get better suffering than that.”
Little Miss Sunshine (2006) – Uncle Frank (Steve Carell)

About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Now what Are We Going To Talk About? (Or Has Facebook Ruined the High School Reunion)

  1. Suzi, our class has never had a problem re-connecting, FB or not, i think we’ll find our rythym again quickly – I kind of think of FB as the icebreaker – so the ice will be broken on arrival, we’ll get to ‘the party’ of it all a little faster, that’s all – . Remember the 20th? We definitely still had it in us then…

    Looking forward to see everyone in PERSON. 🙂

  2. Rob says:

    If only McDonalds would follow my suggestion and offer a scrapple and egg biscuit!

  3. vpgreg says:

    Hope you all have a great time and that Hurricane Irene doesn’t cause any problems with the party.

  4. Dave says:

    Suzie, oddly, Facebook has confirmed my decision not to go to my 30 year reunion. Maybe I didn’t have a lot of friends. Maybe I am more anti-social now that I’m old(er). But it seems that the high school connections from Facebook make me not regret skipping all previous reunions.

    Hope your gathering was joyful and fun!

Leave a Reply

