I Get Knocked Down…

As the famous philosopher of  Mike and Mike in the Morning, Mike Golic , once said, “What matters isn’t that you got knocked down; what  matters is how you get up”  After hearing those inspirational words, I asked myself, “Was it really necessary for me to actually get “knocked down” by a TRUCK to learn this lesson?  Couldn’t we have chosen a less painful and traumatic metaphor?  Mike Golic was talking about football, of course, but I couldn’t help but think what a great message for life.  Lets face it, we all get knocked down in life. Sometimes it is  our own stupid choices that hurl us face down onto the pavement.  Other times it is someone else’s selfish or careless actions that cause us to hit the ground hard, many times without warning. So, how do you get back up when you find yourself on the ground bleeding from  the road rash? I had a multitude of emotions in the moments after I was hit  by the truck.  My first thought as I was flying through the air  was, ” *&^%$!, this isn’t going to end well”  Once I hit the ground and Newton’s laws of physics had come to an end, I realized I was ultimately going to be OK; bruised and banged up, but everything was still attached.  My second thought was, ” So  this is what it feels like to have an elephant step on your head”  Then, I was MAD! I am going to blame it on the head injury, but I said things in a tone and manner that I never would have before my head had been smashed on the pavement. (don’t tell anyone, but it felt really good ) Then my survival mode kicked in.  “This jerk is not going to ruin my accomplishment.  I am on mile 81 of a 100 mile ride I barely trained for.  He is not going to steal my bragging rights…I am checking my 100 mile ride off my bucket list if it kills me….I mean it’s for charity for goodness sakes!”  So, I refused medical help and tried to finish the ride. (tried being the operative word here.) Not the smartest move I have ever made.  In hindsight it was just an extension of how I have dealt with the last  few years.  “Put your head down, dig deep, and keep going.  It hurts, you don’t like it, but just finish the job.  No one wants to hear you whine about how hard you have it.” It’s good, I guess, that I keep getting up when I get knocked down. But, lately I have been asking, “How AM I getting up?” Am I getting up stronger? Am I getting up wiser? Am I getting up with new motivation to succeed, or am I getting up a victim? Have I learned the lessons I needed to learn from hitting the ground? Or, like after my bike accident, am I just getting up mad? As I look back over the things in these past years that have knocked me down, I have had to ask myself those questions.  In some instances I have gotten up stronger and wiser.   I’m pretty sure I  have learned  most of the lessons I was supposed to learn. But unfortunately, as a result of some of the events that have thrown me to the ground,I have gotten up a victim; doubting myself and my abilities. In a sense, I am still lying in the street  bruised and bloody with a  cracked helmet and a  giant hole in my bike shorts; which is a whole other story for another time. ( I am still trying to figure out how the embarrassment of that will translate into pain and suffering in my law suit… just joking if you are a lawyer for the defendant and are reading this) As a result of some of my “crashes”, I am afraid to get back on the bike; figuratively and now literally. How about you?  How do you get back up after you have been knocked down? At the the very least, I hope when you do get up that someone is nice enough to tell you about the huge hole in your bike shorts.

The following was a helpful read to me by Mike Robbins:

Below is a list of some things to appreciate when we “fall down” in life. Obstacles, failures and challenges can:

    • Give us important feedback about where and who we are
    • Provide an opportunity for us to be courageous
    • Allow us to wake up and notice all the good things that are happening that we hadn’t been paying attention to
    • Give us a great opportunity for learning, growth and improvement
    • Allow us to learn to appreciate ourselves, even when things don’t turn out exactly as we want them to
    • Give us an opportunity to get in touch with, take responsibility for and express our real emotions in an authentic way
  • Our greatest glory is not in never failing, but in rising up every time we fail.  ~Ralph Waldo Emerson
  • Failure is not falling down but refusing to get up. -Author unknown
  • “Fall seven times, stand up eight.  ~Japanese Proverb
  • The race is not always to the swift, but to those who get up and  keep on running.  ~Author unknown, in reference to Ecclesiastes 9:11, “I returned, and saw under the sun, that the race is not to the swift, nor the battle to the strong, neither yet bread to the wise, nor yet riches to men of understanding, nor yet favour to men of skill; but time and chance happeneth to them all.
About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in comments on life, getting back up, getting knocked down, Life's challenges and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Get Knocked Down…

  1. Lisa says:

    Congratulations on completing your race!!! Glad you’re okay. I’m sorry you’ll have to give up the useful “head injury” excuse. 🙂
    Funny thing about lessons- they never end. They just get more finely tuned, so we can understand and love God more.

  2. You always get up stronger. From time to time we all need to roll around on the ground so that we can appreciate
    what we have when we stand up on our own two feet.

  3. eddie says:

    You should take all your blogs and write a book, they are very good.

  4. Suzi,
    I know getting knocked down is no fun and the lessons learned you wish could come in an easier way. Know that you’re a great example to the boys, to me, to your family and friends. They see your efforts, they see your persistence, they see your heart and fire and they see that it’s important to keep getting up, dusting off and working toward the things, the relationships and the life we want. You’re preparing them well to earn the life they want and to sacrifice for the goals and dreams they have. Accomplishing a Century is impressive (especially with your training regimen), but I’m betting you’ll find the crash and burn will take you and them to some amazing heights and places in the years ahead. Thanks for the inspiration! Steve

  5. Edward says:

    We all know those people who have very rarely been knocked down in their life, and while they can skim through grade school and maybe even college on their good looks and charms, eventually it’ll catch up to them. When Dr. Erskine, from Captain America was asked why he picked Steve Rogers, the underdog kid who spent his whole life being bullied, he responded “Why [choose] someone weak? Because a weak man knows the value of strength, the value of power…”. It is the underdogs, the ones that are constantly knocked down and get back up, who make this world so great.

  6. Rob says:

    Superbabe,
    Aren’t we being a bit self indulgent? I mean really, you hope to turn the latest calamity in life into the current cliche “teaching moment” but you are completely ignoring the true victims in the incident.
    A perfectly good helmet is now ruined! What else does it have to do? Can’t recycle styrofoam you know! True it did die a noble death, protecting the pavement, but it was so young! So many miles left to go, scenery now never to be seen, bugs not to be squashed. That is to say nothing of the shorts! Can the face the other bike shorts now? Missing a huge chunck of padding? Scared for life! And, the truck, 48 y/o’s don’t bounce of steel and polymer resins like youngsters you know!
    You are most courages and as usual correct that the true measure of a person is what they do when adversity strikes and you have over come more than your fair share already. The lord does not give us more than we can handle, only more than we think we can!

Leave a Reply

