So Why Do We Party On Memorial Day?

Felt a lot like a scene from Caddy Shack

It’s Memorial Day.  The day we get together with friends, cook out, and throw bean bags into a hole and refuse to call it what it really is…bean bag toss.  At the pool I manage, it is a day to cook 500 hamburgers, 300 hotdogs, dance to Justin Beiber songs being blared by a DJ, and pray no one drowns.  Thankfully, no one did. So, from my point  of view it was a successful Memorial Day.  But I want to tell you about a moment I had today that got me wondering about how we celebrate Memorial Day.  In the frenzy of our Memorial Day celebration at the club, a man came into my office wanting to sign his family up to become members.  He seemed a little shell shocked as he stood in my office among the multitude of lifeguards clocking in and out for their shifts, and the DJ blaring “Never Say Never ” outside my office window. He explained to me he had just returned home after serving overseas for a year and his wife  had sent him to join the club so she had somewhere to bring the kids before she “lost her mind”. As he told me  the ages of his children, I realized  that while serving our country, he had missed the birth of his third child. Amidst the chaos of my office, on a day we were celebrating Memorial Day, I realized we were missing the point. Here was a man that had missed a whole year of his families life so we could be free.  Here was a father that  risked his life to fight for something greater than himself, and we were doing the limbo.

How low can you go?

Thankfully  he  was fortunate enough to be able to come back and  hold his new daughter. But, I couldn’t help but think today was supposed to be a day that we honored and remembered those service men and woman who never made it back to their families; and here we were having dance contests.   At least when I was growing up, our celebrations were a little more war like…we were  throwing Jarts instead of bean bags. I like to think that, in  honor of our vets, we were sort of putting our lives at risk too. (Although I will say listening to Justin Bieber and Taylor Swift for 4 hours today did , at times, feel like I was putting my life at risk) So, I couldn’t help but wonder what this service man was thinking about our Memorial Day celebration.  Did he feel honored?

The real reason we have Memorial Day

About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So Why Do We Party On Memorial Day?

  1. rob says:

    jarts? and you all survived? How could that be? The nanny’s of America assure me that anyone so much as picking up a jart can lead to instant death or dismemberment!
    Almost every day, I meet with military family’s, many just back from operations or who are in very senior positions. I wonder how the transition to beltway traffic and being cut off in the Target parking lot!

Leave a Reply

