Listen, my sons….

“Listen, my sons, to a father’s instruction; pay attention and gain understanding” Proverbs 4:1

It keeps me up at night that I am responsible for raising three boys; for imparting wisdom and instruction, and for  leading them into manhood. It was easy when they were little. “Be nice”, “Share”, “Get your finger out of your nose”. I was even able to play  hours of catch and basketball when they were young boys. But, now I know  that I  cannot fill the void of them  not having a  healthy relationship with their father. I am painfully aware that they need some manly wisdom and fatherly advice. I would like to thank the Zac Brown Band for providing a little inspiration for an idea I  have recently had.  But, I need your help. I know everyone is extremely busy; what with having to vote for American Idol and all. So,  If you could take just a minute, I would love to hear from you, your family, and your friends.  Would you take a few minutes and share with me some of the things your Dad has imparted to you; or what you are imparting to your kids.  You know the kind of thing…If you only had one piece of advice, one bit of wisdom to share, what would it be?  I want to listen in on your Father/Son  talks, if you will let me. I know a lot of dad’s aren’t reading my blog, so if you that are reading could pass on my request, I would  really appreciate it. It doesn’t have to be a dissertation, just jot down any advice you have received, any lessons learned from your dad, any inspiring thing you have said to your children, or any wise words you may have.  Humor is always welcomed and appreciated.  Be sure to give credit to who said it, and when I publish (ha) I will be sure to get permission to use the words. I can’t wait to hear from you!  Thanks for your help and time. You can post a comment here or send me an email  at  suzanne_pease@yahoo.com

About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in comments on life, family, single parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Listen, my sons….

  1. marty says:

    “You didn’t have time? You were too busy? What were you doing between 2 and 4 in the morning?” – Dad

  2. Lisa says:

    1. “Life is work, so learn to enjoy your work.” aka “We’re not in Eden/Disneyland/Kansas anymore.”
    2. “Aim for Plan A, be happy with plan B.”
    3. “When you fail, get back up and keep going.”
    4. Proverbs 3:6- “In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will direct your paths.”

  3. davepatchin says:

    “Life is tough. God is good. Then you die.”
    “Most people miss opportunity because it comes disguised as hard work.” – anonymous
    I tell my boys, part of being a man is learning to be tough, to suffer well. You endure pain, difficulty, and hardship not because it is noble. You suffer well because in so doing, you spare others pain. And one of the jobs of men is to spare others pain that you can endure. So you do, and you do it quietly..because you are a man, not a martyr.

  4. P. Scott Miller says:

    – There is no crying in “xxxxx” (you substitute the event).
    – Your word is who and what you are. Tell the truth. Have integrity. The cost of revealing a wrong is significantly less than the cost of someone else revealing that wrong … and the fact that you lied about it, or hid it. Once you lie, it takes a long time to regain trust.
    – It is OK to wear pink.
    – Women/Girls like nice guys too.
    – Your brother doesn’t need to be your best friend.

  5. Rob says:

    You will beat most people by showing up and being in position to make good things happen and showing up isn’t enough.

    Somethings you can’t fix by saying you are sorry, you can’t put the bullet back in a gun, you can’t get her unpregnant, the saw didn’t know you didn’t mean to put your hand there, etc…..

Leave a Reply

