A Year In Review

Not that I would ever wear it on a "sparkle shirt", but these lyrics inspired the title of my blog one year ago.

It’s been a year since my first Lessons Learned post, so I’ve decided to take inventory of what I have learned this year. Well, to start off, I still would rather be in the security of a turtle neck…metaphorically and fashionably. Thankfully since the weather has been   Siberia-like this year, I am able to fulfill at least that need. I discovered that a year later, my kids still don’t really care what I have to say; and maybe some of you feel the same way too. I’ve learned that  my divorce diet has become my single mom’s stress diet and in my attempt to lose my extra weight I have had to apologize to past clients for not being more sympathetic to their battle. Sadly, my boys are not asking me  too many questions lately, though I would like to thank Charlie Sheen for providing endless teachable moments for my boys. I’m still not sure what my boys are catching from me, but I hope they have seen that if you press on, set goals, and work hard towards them, you will find your way.  I’ve learned that my  college kid is happier at college than at home; which makes me feel like I did a good job of kicking him out of the nest.  But, mostly it is because he doesn’t have a bed here anymore. I am no longer codependent at Starbucks!  I had my last drink in NYC.  Surprisingly, I don’t miss it. I am still waiting  for all that extra money I am saving to show up in my  bank account. Of course, I am not so proud to think I couldn’t relapse  and at any minute find myself with a Trenta mocha in my hand.  One day at a time. Speaking of NYC, It was made clear to me that  the perfect Christmas card picture really is hard to capture; but spending  money to take my boys on a vacation is priceless and perfect enough. The next un-perfect Christmas card picture will be in front of a giant palm tree! I am still not a neat freak, but now I blame it on  being floorless.  Still not a fan of Steven Slater.  And Ted Williams, well all I will say about that is I hate that the disease of alcoholism is so predictable.  I’ve learned that there will always be more hurdles to jump, more trials to  overcome, and more ruined things to rebuild. I have realized that the older I get, the more I miss my dad. And of all the losses I grieve the most,  it is that my boys have lost their  relationship with their dad.  It  is the one thing that keeps me up at night; and thus all of these useless ” As seen it on TV” products I have purchased. Being a single mom really is harder than I ever thought it was going to be, but I have learned that God is way more gracious than I ever imagined.  And the really amazing thing is, somehow He has managed to make me feel more loved and more taken care of than I ever have before. So, what about you?  What have your life lessons taught you this past year?   I am looking forward to a new year and new lessons.  I just hope somewhere in this next year there is a lesson on how to be thankful for finished floors!  Oh, and another sighting of Hot Mc Runner Guy wouldn’t be too bad either!  Thanks for reading.

About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Year In Review

  1. rob says:

    This was not what we discussed!!!!
    lol

    I hope your boys know how lucky they are to have you for a mom. They could be so much worse off!!!

Leave a Reply

