Life is Not a Snapshot

Look at those sweet, non stubbly faces!

I am taking the man-boys to NYC for Christmas.  I can’t wait! I have high expectations. Dangerous I know, but high non the less.  I want the perfect picture for our Christmas card;  in front of Rockefeller Plaza and the giant tree.  All of us arm in arm, expressions of joy on  our stubbly faces. Wait, scratch that. On their stubbly faces. ( I just spent a small fortune to have the miracle of lasers remove my occasional chin hair.) Sorry, that was probably too much information.   Trying to get the perfect Christmas card is like  trying to capture a picture of a unicorn while having all the laundry done….its just never going to happen. I can look at each of  our  Christmas cards of the past and tell you all of the drama behind each of them.  You wouldn’t have known it, we looked so put together.  Most of it was your typical brothers fighting and complaining about getting their picture taken, or grumbling about what I was making them wear. I remember one particular picture  Cameron decided to fill his diaper while he was stacked on Carter who was stacked on Tyler..in their khaki pants and white shirts, on the beach of course. “Quit complaining and  stay still, I have to get the perfect Christmas card to send to everyone so they can see how cute and charming you are.” What really amazes me is I continued taking the “perfect Christmas card” pictures even when our family was falling apart.  I should have been arrested for fraud. Will this year be any different?  And, who am  I trying to fool anyway?  We could take the perfect picture, but that’s all it will be…a picture.  It won’t capture all the joys and sorrows and fears and trials that have shaped us this year. You just can’t take a perfect picture with imperfect people. Life is not a snapshot. (to steal a lyric from Josh Wilson) But at least you will get to see how cute and charming my man-boys are….imperfections and all! 

Maybe, there are things you can’t see
and all those things are happening
to bring a better ending
some day, some how, you’ll see, you’ll see

Life is not a snapshot, it might take a little time,
but you’ll see the bigger picture
– JOSH WILSON
I Hope all of you have a very Merry (which I learned originally meant PEACEFUL) Christmas and I will be sure to post my “perfect Christmas card” from the Big Apple.
About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in comments on life, single parenting, teenagers, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

