What was I thinking?

The power of the blue box!

Why didn’t someone stop me?  I mean really, what was I thinking?  Why did I think I needed to help my future daughter- in- laws by making sure my boys had the ability to do home repairs?  I think in hind sight I must have been abducted by aliens and implanted with  the thought that somehow it was my responsibility to make sure my boys had a skill.  Up until last weekend I had lived 48 years with out the skill of tiling a floor and for the most part have been OK with that. Why did I think it was necessary that they knew how to do it at 13 and 15 ? So, here I am with bruised knees, broken finger nails, and a kitchen floor and bathroom that are 3/4 tiled.  Here’s the thing…all the lessons I thought my boys needed to learn through this experience of putting in tile and hardwood floors ourselves, were apparently meant for me. I hate when that happens. So, here is what I learned about myself…..

Lesson #1  I am afraid of things I have never done before. I rented a saw from Home Depot to cut out the door jams.  I Brought the saw home.  Held it up to the wood.  Put it back in the box.  Returned it.  Turns out I am afraid of losing my fingers.  We decided the prudent thing was  to move on to the tiling.  The hardwood could wait until we got a little more supervision from the professionals.

Lesson #2  I really don’t like to work. Work is dirty, and it hurts my back.  My knees hurt and my finger nails have cement under them.  I prefer pedicures, and shopping, and lunch out with a nice spinach salad with salmon.

Lesson #3 I avoid  difficult things. I made Carter cut the tiles and spread the thin set.  I put the tile down and placed the spacers….much easier.

Lesson #4 I have a hard time finishing what I start. The tile is almost done…almost. I tried wiggling my nose and blinking my eyes, but it didn’t finish the task. I am blogging about tiling when I should just go finish the job.

Two weeks later…..”You have got to be kidding me! I have to take up all the tile and start over?” It seems I  got some bad advice and direction from the first handyman I hired to help us get started on this little home improvement project. (apparently he wasn’t so handy.) If I don’t fix it now, I will only have huge problems later…..  Like I hadn’t already learned that lesson in real life, now I have  to have it played out in my home improvement projects?  So, here is the final lesson learned from this disaster…..

Lesson #5 There is only one lesson left  to teach my boys how to be better husbands. When we are in NYC this Christmas I am going to take them by the hand and bring them to Tiffany’s door step. With a Vanna White arm sweep I will pronounce,  “Boy’s, this is all you need to know.  The power of the blue box!”  Future daughter in laws, you can thank me later.

Now, if you will excuse me I have some tiles to smash….. uh, I mean remove. And, the next time I have some bright idea involving a do it yourself project, someone slap me!

About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in comments on life, home repairs, single parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

