Really? You Want Me To Be Thankful For That?

The Pilgrims sure had it right , didn’t they? Give Thanks.  It’s really the best choice.  I am glad they reminded us to be thankful.  I am also thankful we don’t have to wear those long heavy dresses anymore.  That would make for a very cumbersome run at your local Turkey Trot.  Although, I would be thankful my ankles weren’t  cold and no one could see my thighs rubbing together.  Which brings me to my point.  Be thankful in all things. It’s ironic I am writing that because I have always  hated that poem that tells me to be thankful for laundry because it means I have clothes, or be glad to do the dishes because it means I had food.  I will never be thankful for laundry or dishes.  But today I am reminded that no matter what my situation, I should maintain an attitude of thankfulness. There is alway something I can be thankful for in spite of the things that are difficult or unpleasant  in my life.  Im not going to tell you to be thankful that this is the first Thanksgiving without a parent, or to be thankful that you don’t have a job. And, I am certainly not going to tell you to be thankful  that your family isn’t what you hoped for or dreamed it would be. I will be the last person to tell you to be grateful that your children are struggling to make the right choice.  Those are all painful and difficult things.  But, there is always something we can find to be thankful for.  So, today here is what I am thankful for….Cameron’s sense of humor, though it has become a bit snarky as the hormones have begun to rage.  Carter’s quiet strength and responsible nature.  Tyler’s beard; and until he calls me more often from college that’s all for him.  But mostly I am thankful that  for today they are safe.  One year when it was particularly difficult to find things to be thankful for, we decided to be thankful for the most random things we could think of…I think I was thankful that plastic sheets had been invented by the time I had bed wetters. Tyler was thankful for….who am I kidding?  That was three years ago. I can’t remember what I did yesterday.  But my point is, even though they were random, ridiculous things our attitude changed and we ended up laughing and truly being thankful.  Ladies, in case you can’t find anything to be thankful for today,  remember you can always be thankful for Spanks!  Guys you are on your own….

Give thanks in all circumstances  1 Thessalonians 5:18

About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in comments on life, Thankfulness, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Really? You Want Me To Be Thankful For That?

  1. Rob says:

    I’m thankful for my friends at the Amish market and the generous portion of scrapple they always give me!!!!

Leave a Reply

