Thoughts from a board walk run then and now…..

I’ve been running (well it is more like slogging…slow jogging) on the beach boardwalk for over twenty years. Not to state the obvious, but  a lot has changed in all those years.  Today my thoughts were quite different from those I had twenty years ago.   Here is a small sample…Then: “Would someone please take this screaming kid and stroller from me so I can actually finish this run without stopping every 5 minutes”  Today: “Would someone please give me their stroller and screaming kid so I have something to lean on and have an excuse to stop every 5 minutes so I can finish this run”  Then: “Boys, that man is sleeping on the bench because he is homeless.   Work hard in school so that doesn’t happen to you”  Today:  ” Boys,  we are all one bad decision, one lost job, one too many drinks away from sleeping on that bench”  Then: “Life is good, we have so much to look forward to”  Today: “Man life can sure kick you around” Miraculously, today,  I managed to run to the end of the boardwalk where there is a new, state of the art handicapped park on the beach built by a local business man in honor of his son fighting ALS. Twenty years ago he had no idea his son would one day suffer with this horrible disease.  None of us knows what is waiting for us around the corner; what adversity may come our way.   What matters is how we respond to the difficulties.  Do we build a park for the benefit of others, or do we let the adversity rob us of a life that can still make a difference? Twenty years later, I am a little more cynical, a little more realistic, a little more exhausted, and  a lot slower; and now after experiencing the park, a little more inspired  to make a difference.

http://www.grommetisland.org/

One thing that never changes:   Malachi 3:6 “For I am the LORD, I do not change; Therefore you are not consumed, O sons of Jacob.

About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

