We are a little less like the Hecks

If you have never seen The Middle, you are missing out.  I don’t know what it is about the show that resonates so loudly with me.  Maybe it is the teenage son that is always walking around the house in his boxers ready to spout off his sarcastic comments to everything and everyone around him.  Or, it could be the working mom who dislikes her job and is pretty lousy at it, and could just use a little break. Thankfully none of my boys whisper under their breath after they speak; although Cameron does make endless, senseless noises that sometimes worry me a bit. We have never laughed as loud as we did during the episode when the mom decided they would start to eat dinner at the table.  They hadn’t eaten dinner together as a family in so long that they didn’t even have a chair for their youngest child, Brick.  Even  though they were at the table together, they were still eating fast food.  Hey, it was  a start.  The boys and I felt like we were watching our life on TV.  I know I have mentioned it before, and I don’t want to beat a dead horse;  but we used to have dinner at the table every night.  I used to  stay on top of the laundry; well as much as anyone can stay on top of laundry. I would even play the occasional game or read with my kids at night.  When my life jumped the track, I couldn’t manage anything but working and picking up fast food.  I was in survival mode.  So, to see my life on TV in a humorous way was refreshing.  Today,  all three bathrooms are clean and I have found the bottom of the laundry basket.  This afternoon, I actually cared what Cameron’s myth was about. And, miraculously, I cooked dinner for tonight and tomorrow night.   As we sat down to eat dinner, Cameron summed it up. He took a bite of his homemade mac and cheese and said, and I quote, “Looks like we are a little less like the Hecks!”  (Well, almost, Carter still walks around in his boxers)

It feels really good to be coming out of survival mode. I was there way too long.  I’m sure you have been there at one time or another.  Just going through the motions; just barely getting by.  I know there is a season for everything, but it sure is nice to be out of the going through life a shell of who I was season.  How about you?  What season are you in? The kids are clinging to my leg and I don’t have a second to myself season? The kids are playing on 10 different teams and I don’t know whether I am coming or going season? The kids are out of the house and I don’t know who I am anymore season? The battling with a health issue and I am exhausted season? The work is killing me season? What ever the season, there is a purpose. And, one day you will wake up and find yourself on the other side. And, it will feel really good.

For everything there is a season, and a time for every purpose under heaven.  Ecclesiastes  3:1

About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in comments on life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

