Hurdles

Apparently my dad was a hurdler;  and a pretty good one from what I hear.  So, I encouraged Tyler to run track when he was in high school. “Its in your genes,” I said, “you’ll do great!”  Except for the torn hamstring on the first hurdle of the first meet, I think it went pretty well.  Maybe those hurdling genes skipped a few generations. Sometimes I think it would help if we all had the hurdler gene.  The other day I was talking  with a friend’s mom  who is eighty and is waiting to hear the results of a biopsy. Eighty years of living is a long time….lots of hurdles to get over. And now she has to deal with this..and she will.  She will deal with it,  and handle it, and hopefully all will be OK. But you know, at eighty it’s a hassle, and inconvenient, and tiring,  and just one more hurdle to clear. It seems there is always another hurdle to leap over on this track of life.  Some times it’s a daily event.  You clear one, just get your footing and then have to muster up the energy to leap over another one.  It can be exhausting. And sometimes you tear a hamstring;  your foot gets caught, and down you go.  It hurts too. Then you have a choice.  Do I lay here and feel sorry for myself, or do I get up, muster the strength, and do what it takes to leap over the next hurdle in front of me. Thankfully,  clearing our last hurdle can give us the strength and confidence to leap over the next one successfully. So, here is what I found makes a great hurdler…

“here is one thing he does better than anyone else anywhere: he maintains his forward momentum. Yes he has a killer start, and yes he has world-class speed, but it’s his ability to maintain his forward momentum throughout the entire 60m race that makes him virtually unbeatable indoors.”

It’s no different for us.  Keep your forward momentum! You will be unbeatable! Tyler’s experience with hurdles didn’t turn out too badly.  As he limped away from the track,  he was quickly surrounded by several young ladies in track shorts ready to give him comfort.  (It’s suddenly apparent to me; that may have been his plan all along….)Hopefully someone is there to help you up and off the track when you need it.  If they are, thank them!

While life may not always be fair, you must never allow the pains, hurdles, and handicaps of the moment to poison your attitude and plans for yourself and your future.

About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hurdles

  1. splitpease says:

    What Hurdle are you facing?

Leave a Reply

