View from a college dorm 25 years later

So, here I sit in a Starbucks in Blacksburg Virginia while Tyler registers for classes at VT.  Just 30 years ago I was 30 minutes down Prices Fork road registering for my own classes at the prestigious Radford university.  Not to state the obvious, but things have changed.

1.  The food is way better. Not to brag or anything, but VT has been ranked #1 in the country in food service.  Take that UVA!  Seriously though,  Tyler may never come home.  After the last few years of fending for himself with cereal and peanut butter toast, the carved flank steak, sweet potato fries and spinach salad I had last night should be enough to keep him  in school long enough to get a degree.

2. The campus is much harder to walk across with knees that are 25 years older.  I am already reserving my Jazzy for when I bring him back in August to move in.  I definitely didn’t foresee the need to ice my knee after a day of college orientation.

3.  There are a lot more sticker choices for your car

4. Kids are much smarter today.  Apparently this is the smartest class to be admitted into Tech. (sorry John, and all my other Hokie alumni friends) With an average grade point of 3.95 and and average SAT score of 1250. I would probably  still be doing what I did at 20 because I wouldn’t have been smart enough to get into college….Oh, wait. Crap!  I am still doing what I did at 20.  Which brings me to the real reason I am writing. The path we started down at college is rarely where we end up.

I was sitting at breakfast in the dining hall eating my made to order egg white, veggie omelet with a side of fresh fruit.  (see I told you things have changed)  when I overheard a Dad say.  “Who comes to college undecided?  Like they haven’t had 18 years to figure it out.”  Are you kidding me? Who has figured it out? If life has taught me anything, it is  that we never really have it all figured out.  I’m glad Tyler realizes he doesn’t have to  be decided about everything right now. I am  excited to watch Tyler discover who he is and who he wants to become, and grateful that he doesn’t think he has to have it all figured out by the time he registers for his first semester of classes.  My only hope, whether he chooses to  be a biomedical engineer or be in a rock band, is that he makes enough  money to take care of me when I have to have my knee replacement surgery. (and, that he doesn’t end up at 48 doing what he was doing at 19)

About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

