Book Store Moment

Who would have thought that an innocent trip to the book store would have set me on such an emotional roller coaster?  One minute I am cheerfully loading my arms with titles like The Naked Roommate and Confessions of a College Freshman, the next minute I am  nearly knocking over a display of preschool board books.  Instantly, I am reliving the past 18 years and crying like an idiot in the middle of Barnes and Nobles.  There, right in front of me, is the book Chicka Chicka Boom Boom….Tyler would stare at that book when he was two months old. I know,  only the mom of a first born would prop a book in front of a two month old.  But I swear, he would stare at it. We read that book no less than 1,000 times. ” Wee said D to E, F, G, I’ll meet you at the top of the coconut tree!”  I can still recite the whole book. I can’t remember where I put my reading glasses, or what I went upstairs for; but I can still recite that book.  (For the record so can he.  I asked.  We shared a moment in the kitchen)  Next to  that book sat ‘We are going On a Bear Hunt”,  “Good Night Moon”, ” I Love You Forever”, and “Polar Bear, Polar Bear”  We read them all. Chubby little Tyler would sit on my lap for hours as we read them  over, and over, and over again.  I thought through my tears,  oh my goodness all those obnoxious old ladies that would stop me as I was an un-showered, sleepless, and incredibly cranky new mom with my baby and say, “Treasure these times, they grow up so fast”,  were right!  So there I was in the book store having a moment; wondering if what I had done as a mother between  Chicka Chicka Boom Boom  and The Naked Roommate was enough to prepare him to be  a man.  I am pretty sure he is relatively polite.  We worked hard on the please and thank yous.  I am almost positive he is not heading for jail anytime soon (Of course, life has taught me you just never know) He has done well in school and can dress himself; so I haven’t totally failed.  But, does he know what it means to be a gentleman? Does he have what it takes to take the high road when the low road is so much easier?  I know I have taught him to be honest, but does he really know it is always best to tell the truth? Did he learn  that what really matters is how you act when no one is watching? Does he have a firm hand shake? I know he will never have a clean room, but does he know how to have a clean heart? Have I given him a glimpse of what it means to work hard and sacrifice for a greater good? Does he know how not to quit? I know I want for my son the same things we all want for our kids.  But, I was overwhelmed  with the question, have I set him up for success? Will he get to the top of the coconut tree? Will he know how to deal with a naked roommate?  I guess time will tell.  In the mean time, I have become that obnoxious old women telling exhausted moms of toddlers and newborns to cherish these moments because they are gone before you know it. I can’t help it.  It’s true; and you should always tell the truth.

“Train up a child in the way he should go and when he is old, he will not depart from it.” Proverbs 22:6

About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in single parenting, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book Store Moment

  1. eddie ridgway says:

    Tyler had the best teacher a son could ask for and he will be just fine.

  2. rob says:

    So what is the “Naked Roommate about??????
    He will do fine at that school I dont’ like to mention, sometimes we learn how to do something by seeing the wrong way to do it.

Leave a Reply

