Everybody’s Got Something





Since my blog is called lessons learned I thought I would share a few I learned just today. 1. Never smack  a wall that has a picture hanging on the opposite side of it.  2. Bike shorts are padded for a reason, wear them when you ride.  Hope that helps.  But the real reason for writing today is the lesson  I have learned that inevitably robs me of my ability to throw myself a pity party. So here is the lesson: everybody”s got something.  I was sitting in the bank line  the other day having the beginnings of a pity party when I looked over to the car in the next line.  A man about my age obviously suffering from Parkinson’s disease was struggling to open the canister.  I have my health.  I was watching the news this morning about the parents whose  18 year old daughter was killed in San Diego.  My kids are safe.  There was a lady at my club the other day, apparently suffering from mental illness. I have a healthy mind.  I don’t have the life I envisioned I would have, and I have gone through some difficult things, but  I am certainly not alone; everybody’s got something.  Every time I see the “Life is Good” stickers I want to take a sharpie and add, “and hard”  (I keep hearing Michael from the office saying “that’s what she said”, sorry I had to acknowledge what everyone was already thinking)  But back to my point, and I do have one. It’s easy to feel sorry for myself, until I remember that everybody has trials and pain. Even Paul, the apostle had his thorn.( I wonder if it had anything to do with clay tennis court maintenance?)  When I am tempted to dwell on all my trials and tribulations and  begin to sing my whoa is me song, all I need to do is remember that everybody’s got something.  And here is the really amazing thing about that; when I actually step into someone else’s  trials and tribulations, mine begin to fade into the background.  When I make the attempt to help  with someone else’s “something” my pity party ends and my “something” is a little more bearable. 


1 Peter 5:10

And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you.

About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Everybody’s Got Something

  1. Rob says:

    So what you are saying, is no matter how low we feel, we can always help someone who is worse off than we?

Leave a Reply

