Come Hell or High Water

Why do I hate change?  I reisist it at all costs. I hate changing doctors, sheets, light bulbs, and sometimes even my socks. Unexpected changes make me irritable, cranky, even hostile.  Take this morning for example.  I am all excited to go for a run on the state park trail.  Its finally above freezing and I figure there hasn’t been precipitation for a while so I won’t get my new running shoes muddy.  I head out, but quickly realize  I don’t have my ipod here…bummer, now I will have to listen to myself on the brink of cardiac arrest for the next hour.  But I don’t let that stop my enthusiasm. I think to myself, come Hell or High Water I am going to get a good run in!  Off I go.  It’s gonna be a great run, I can tell.  My legs feel like I am running on kangoos,  (google it…they are hysterical.) instead of the normal lead weights I usually  feel like I am running on.  Maybe I will go 8 or 10 miles today, I feel so good. There is no limit to how far I can go on these trails…..except for the huge bright yellow sign in front of my path warning me of the HIGH WATER ahead. (well, that’s better than Hell, I guess) How high can it be?  It hasn’t rained or snowed in days.  They probably just didn’t have the man power to take the sign down with all the budget cuts. Besides, I am feeling so great I will just leap over the puddle that is left.  Not so much.  Even if I was wearing kangoos I would not be able to leap over the lake that is now Sea Shore State Park  (Sorry, First Landing State Park for those of you that aren’t as old as I am)

Now I am ticked off.  Why doesn’t this happen on the days that I am running so slowly I am actually moving backwards? Now I am going to have to change my plans.  Talk about coming off a runners high. Where is Dora and her backpack when I need her.  She would have a solution in her backpack and then I could do the “We did It Dance” when I was done with my 8 miler.  Sorry about the second reference to Dora the Explorer in as many blogs.  Maybe next blog I will graduate from Nick Jr. to Nickelodeon,  and Drake and Josh. Those guys are hilarious. If you’re really lucky, maybe  I will even move up to Nick at Nite. The Brady’s are full of real life wisdom; to this day I have never been tempted to  take a cursed Hawaiian tiki and make it into a necklace.

So what is the deal with change?  When will I learn that it really is no big deal.  Just adapt, make some adjustments, and keep going.  So that’s what I did.  I ran a new route.  And, to my surprise it was a better route than I usually take (and not just because I passed a runner that from now on I will refer to as Mc-Hot-Runner-Guy. (I tried, but I couldn’t think of anything that rhymed with McDreamy.) I kept thinking of all the things I would have missed if I had  not adapted to the change in my normal route. There were several, but  Mc-Hot-Runner-Guy  seems to be the  only one I am remembering at the moment.  But the point is, Next time I am faced with change, big or small, I hope I will take a new approach. Instead of dread or irritation, I am going to look forward to all the new things I might get to experience.  Thanks Mc-Hot-Runner-Guy for teaching me that  change isn’t always a bad thing !              

You can avoid having ulcers by adapting to the situation:  If you fall in the mud puddle, check your pockets for fish.  ~Author Unknown


The most successful people are those that are good at plan B

About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Come Hell or High Water

  1. LeAnn Cornell-Burdick says:

    So funny that you keep using Dora in your blog! My husband went outside one morning a few years back and I hear him saying “Swiper No Swiping” I think “what the heck?” He comes back in and says “There was a fox in the backyard!!”
    So, with that being said, it happens to us all concerning the ‘catchy” kid show jingles. Oh and I STILL haven’t recovered from the Barney years with my son!!

    Glad to hear that you got your run in AND a Bonus view of a Mc-Hot-Runner-guy!!

  2. Kendra Kleppe says:

    Suzi! I’m a friend of Maggie’s-I met you at Stella’s bday party. I saw your blog info on her fb page and checked it out. You are great and had me laughing out loud! Keep it up! Very real and I can relate! Ya Maggie and I went running a few weeks ago in seashore…in the snow..and got our feet soaked back there! Tons of water!
    And I always love seeing a hot guy on a run…very inspiring;)
    Keep it up!
    Kendra Kleppe

  3. Rob says:

    Always entertaining my friend, never thought of picking up chic’s on jogging trail, of course I am usually barely able to see from all the sweat and my eyeballs bouncing inside my head with each breath!

  4. Jags4ever says:

    My husband is the one who hates change….me, I guess it depends on what the change is. The last couple of years has made me a little more adaptable. The thing is, change is going to happen whether you want it to or not…….so you might as well try to go with the flow. Let go and let God.

Leave a Reply

