Exposed

I feel a little exposed after my first attempt at blogging.  Sort of like the first day on the beach in a bathing suit after the protection of turtlenecks all winter.  You know the feeling.  You put your chair near lots of kids (and hopefully and infant) in hopes that on lookers think they are all yours and that is your excuse for being so pale and out of shape….so exposed.  I spent the night wondering what people were thinking. Did my christian friends think I wasn’t spiritual enough? Did people think I was shallow writing about weight loss when Haiti is suffering; homeless and hungry? Who cares what I have to say anyway? Then I realized it is a bit like walking into a party.  You feel self conscience thinking everyone is looking at you and noticing all your flaws, when in reality no one cares or is looking, they are too worried about their own insecurities.  The old me would have kept my cover up on and sweated it out on the beach. Today I am making the choice to stayed exposed, insecurities and all, and see what I can learn from this process of blogging.  What are your insecurities keeping you from doing?

About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Exposed

  1. Rob says:

    Hard to believe Suzi P has insecurities! I guess it just makes you even better as a person. For what it is worth you have inspired me plenty over the last year+ and for that I will be forever in your debt!
    You write whatever, whenever you want!

  2. Jennifer Scovill says:

    Suzi – you said what we all feel…. and now you have me thinking. And I’m kind of afraid of the answer to that last question. Keep blogging please… you made me laugh & think 25 years ago and today!

  3. Maureen B. says:

    Wow Suzi…you have a real gift for writing.

    I’m always jealous of folks who reveal the wisdom and humor in the obvious or come up with a great analogy. my brain: “why didn’t I think of that??” My brain said just that when I read “Exposed”.

    You’re off to a great start!!!!

    • splitpease says:

      Thanks Mo.. you may make an appearance in one of my notes..remember that glittery tube top you gave me as a joke for christmas one year? ( i think that is what i am opening in that old picuture you posted) my mom wore it one night for new years, she was dressed like a hooker and i made reference to it in a poem i wrote once. I think of you every time i read it and laugh!

  4. eddie says:

    i can’t tell you what my insecurites are, if wouldn’t be prudent. Sometimes it is hard to do or say what is on our mind but better to do than never get the chance.

  5. LeAnn Cornell-Burdick says:

    Sometimes it is hard to really be myself because I don’t think that people really want to know that me …warts and all.

Leave a Reply

