Why didn’t I get to be on the divorce diet?

I ran into an old friend the other day.  She looked amazing!  As someone in the fitness industry, I am always curious as to how people have achieved their weight loss. You never know who has discovered the next best thing.    “You look great”, I say.  “How did you do it?” (Which in hind sight was a really stupid question coming from me.  I already know the only correct answer… she burned more calories than she  took in)  “Well,” she said.  “I am going through a divorce”  Not really the answer I expected.  Hollywood diet, ran a marathon, hired a personal trainer 🙂 was a contestant on Survivor.  Those answers would have been understandable. So I reacted like any other woman would have.  Outwardly I empathized and encouraged.  Inwardly I made it about me…How come I go through a divorce and I gain weight?  Life is so unfair!  How come she gets to look 10 years younger and I  don’t?  “Let’s get together for coffee soon”, I say.  ” You really do look great”  I say.  After my self absorbed pity party, I tried to find the answer to the divorce diet mystery.  Why do so many women lose weight during a divorce and I managed to gain weight?

As I look back over the years of chaos and instability in my marriage, I realized one  of the main things that helped me stay sane and antidepressant free was exercise.  I felt a real affinity with Forrest Gump during those years (sadly enough, I could even relate to the growth of facial hair, but that is a whole other blog) Once I was out of the stress and chaos, the couch and one of Carter’s cookies seemed like a much more comfortable place to be.  I was more peaceful. Rested.  Relaxed.  And, 10 pounds heavier. (probably more, but I have an image to uphold as a fitness professional so we will just pretend it is 10lbs)   I truly  am happy that my friend looks great after her divorce diet, she deserves at least that.  And now I am looking at my 10 pounds with a little more affection.  I’ll take peaceful, rested and relaxed over a size smaller any day.  (well, I still miss my old jeans)  I guess it really wasn’t such a mystery after all.  Now, if you will excuse me, I’ve got to go for a run….

About splitpease

I am a mom of three teenage boys who used to be a teacher, who became a personal trainer, who had to sell my share of a personal training studio, who had to take a job running a swim and racquet club, who hopes to one day be able to do what I love and still keep a roof over my head.
This entry was posted in divorce, Fitness, Uncategorized, weight loss and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why didn’t I get to be on the divorce diet?

  1. Elizabeth Baumer says:

    Lessons learned….. hmmm… Ever changing. Raising 2 teenaged daughters and their trials and tribs… working full time and a husband who travels half the year. Yep …and I miss my old jeans too. 😦 The main lesson is… I couldn’t do it without faith and a Lord who seems to carry me always.
    Love the blog.. just wish it would inspire me to run.
    Elizabeth

  2. Catharine Johnson says:

    Admttedly I was one of those divorcees who lost weight after the divorce. I have an opposite issue. I have been with this fab fellow for the past 1 1/2 years, and I have gained “happy fat”. He is doing better on his work out regiment. It seems lost in my happiness I have let go of the discipline and regimen needed to lose the weight.

    BTW I also like this blog. It provides a helpful perspective that many of us can connect with us. We are not alone in our boats.

Leave a Reply

